International Alliance of Women (IAW)

The International Alliance of Women (IAW) is an international NGO comprising 52 member organizations involved in the promotion of women’s human rights, equality and the empowerment of women. The IAW has general consultative status at the UN Economic and Social Council and is accredited to many specialized UN agencies, has participatory status with the Council of Europe and is represented at the Arab League, the African Union and other international organizations. It was founded in 1904 and is based in Geneva.


The objectives of the IAW are:

  • To secure all such reforms as are necessary to establish a real equality of liberties, status and opportunities between men and women and to work for equal partnership between men and women in all spheres of life.
  • To urge women to accept their responsibilities and to use their rights and influence in public and private life to ensure that the status of every individual, without distinction on grounds of sex, age, race, religious or political persuasion or any other ground, shall be based on respect for the person, the only guarantee for individual freedom, and
  • To promote a better quality of life and good understanding among peoples.

History of IAW

For information on the history of the IAW, click here –


There is a President, Secretary General, Treasurer and a maximum of 20 other members from at least twelve countries ensuring an equitable geographical distribution on the board.

Advocacy Activities

For information on IAW advocacy activities, click here-

Membership Cost

The cost to be a member of IAW is 110 Euros – approximately $165 Canadian. CFUW was accepted as an affiliate member at the IAW’s October, 2017 Congress.

Report from the 2017 IAW Congress

The IAW held its most recent Congress in October, 2017 in Nicosia, Cypress. Click here to read the full report.

IAW Newsletters

Scroll to Top