Provincial and Regional Councils

There are seven CFUW provincial and regional councils.

BC Council

Its mandate is to promote education and lifelong learning to encourage the participation of members in their communities and to enhance the status of women and girls. Their main concerns include high quality public education, universal health care, a clean safe environment and the physical and psychological violence against women.

For more information visit:

Alberta Council

Alberta Council is made up of five clubs: Calgary: founded in 1923 Calgary North: founded in 1988 Edmonton: founded in 1919 Lethbridge: founded in 1944 Strathcona County: founded in 1988 The following executive offices make up the Alberta Council: President (who is the Regional Director), Treasurer, Secretary, Chair of Credentials, and Chair of Issues and Advocacy. The Council calls a meeting annually with the meeting hosted by one of the clubs.

Saskatchewan Council

The Saskatchewan Council is made up of six Clubs; Estevan, Prince Albert, Regina, Saskatoon, and Yorkton. The Saskatchewan Council meets annually and these meetings are held in various locations. The annual meetings are for information sharing between clubs, presentations/workshops focused on club enhancement and a key note speaker. The Saskatchewan Council also participates in the Prairie Gathering held once every two years.

Ontario Council

Formed in 1978, CFUW Ontario Council is governed by a 13 member Executive Board. It was created to:

  • To promote cooperation and facilitate communication of information and ideas among CFUW Clubs in Ontario.
  • To promote the policies and programmes of CFUW.
  • To encourage and initiate studies with respect to matters of a provincial nature.
  • To make representation to the appropriate provincial authorities consistent with Ontario Council policy.
  • To promote an understanding of provincial and national issues and their implications through dialogue among member Clubs.

For more information visit:

Quebec Council

All Clubs are part of the Quebec Provincial Council. The Council Board consists of the VP Quebec, the two Regional Directors, and a Treasurer. A Recording Secretary is elected for each Council Meeting. The role of the Council meeting is to bring the clubs together, so the members can meet members from other clubs, share and discuss successes and challenges, and feel connected to CFUW on a regional basis. The members often meet National and/or Provincial leaders of CFUW. The R.D. also co-ordinates with these leaders to make club visits.

Atlantic Regional Council

The Atlantic Regional Council was formed in 1988 to help improve communication, cooperation, and friendship among CFUW clubs in the four Atlantic provinces, and to promote the policies and programs of CFUW.

  • NB Clubs: Fredericton, Saint John and Moncton.
  • PEI Club: Charlottetown.
  • NS Clubs: Pictou County (New Glasgow-Pictou area), Wolfville, Halifax, Dartmouth and Cape Breton (Sydney area).
  • NL Club: St. John’s.

The Council Executive consists of the President (who also serves as Vice President Atlantic on the CFUW Board of Directors), four Regional Directors (one for each province), and a Secretary-Treasurer. The Annual General Meeting is held in the autumn each year, in conjunction with a Regional Conference hosted by one of the clubs.

Scroll to Top